Team Smith

Progressives from across Minnesota and the country recognize Tina's progressive record and have endorsed her run for Senate.

“Tina is a progressive champion who will be an extraordinary senator for the people of Minnesota. From expanding broadband access in rural areas to investing in early childhood education, Tina has always put working people ahead of special interests, and that’s what she’ll do in the Senate.”

U.S. Rep. Keith Ellison U.S. Rep. Keith Ellison

"As a farmer, I know that Senator Smith is fully engaged in working to get a farm bill passed that will provide a safety net for farm families, including conservation and food safety measures along with a strong nutrition program. Senator Smith understands that a strong vibrant Rural Minnesota is essential to a strong vibrant state."

Yellow Medicine County farmer and business owner, Tim Velde Yellow Medicine County farmer and business owner, Tim Velde

"Tina is smart, strategic, hard-working and incredibly effective, and has been an important ally and champion for Duluth and our region. Tina understands the importance of leading, listening, asking questions and then putting the pedal down to get things done."

Duluth Mayor Emily Larson Duluth Mayor Emily Larson

"I am constantly impressed by Tina Smith's commitment to Minnesota kids and families. I am proud to call her a mentor and a friend."

Saint Paul Mayor Melvin Carter Saint Paul Mayor Melvin Carter

"Throughout my time in the legislature, I’ve known Tina Smith to be accessible and motivated to learn the issues facing Minnesotans of every age, race, religion, gender, and ethnicity. Tina Smith is a strong advocate for women, for immigrant and refugee families who are feeling extremely threatened in the current political climate, and she believes that every person deserves to see the economic benefits of a strong economy that works for everyone."

Minnesota Rep. Ilhan Omar Minnesota Rep. Ilhan Omar

Endorsements for Senator Tina Smith 


AFSCME Council 5

Minnesota AFL-CIO

Council for a Livable World

DFL Stonewall Caucus

Education Minnesota

EMILY's List

Human Rights Campaign Fund

League of Conservation Voters

Minnesota Building and Construction Trades Council

Moms Demand Action Gun Sense Candidate distinction*

National Resources Defense Council (NRDC) Action Fund

NARAL Pro-Choice Minnesota

Planned Parenthood Action Fund

Population Connection Action Fund

SEIU Minnesota

Teamsters Joint Council 32

United Steelworkers


Minnesota Voices

State Rep. Jamie Becker Finn

State Rep. Connie Bernardy

Vice President Joe Biden

Rochester Mayor Ardell Brede

State Sen. Lyndon Carlson

St Paul Mayor Melvin Carter

State Sen. Bobby Joe Champion

State Sen. Greg Clausen

State Sen. Dick Cohen

U.S. Rep. (Candidate) Angie Craig

State Sen. Jim Davnie

Governor Mark Dayton

State Sen. Scott Dibble

State Rep. Rob Ecklund

State Sen. Kent Eken

U.S. Rep. Keith Ellison

Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey

State Rep. Mike Frieberg

State Rep. Laurie Halverson

Ron Harris, Democratic National Committee

State Sen. Foung Hawj

State Sen. Jeff Hayden

State Rep. Debra Hilstrom

State Rep. Frank Hornstein

State Rep. Melissa Hortman

Jaylani Hussein, CAIR Minnesota

State Sen. Jason Isaacson

Nick Khaliq, Saint Paul NAACP

U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar

State Rep. Erin Koegel

State Rep. Mary Kunesh Podein

Duluth Mayor Emily Larson

State Rep. Ben Lien

State Sen. Tony Lourey

State Rep. Tim Mahoney

State Rep. Carlos Mariani

State Rep. Erin Maye Quade

U.S. Rep Betty McCollum

Ramsey County Commissioner Mary Jo McGuire

Vice President Walter Mondale

State Rep. Rena Moran

Ann Mulholland, Saint Paul Foundation 

Former Duluth Mayor Don Ness

State Sen. Jerry Newton

U.S. Rep. Rick Nolan

State Rep. Liz Olson

State Rep. Ilhan Omar

State Sen. Sandy Pappas

Former State Rep. John Persell

U.S. Rep. (Candidate) Dean Phillips

State Rep. Dave Pinto

State Rep. Jeanne Poppe

State Sen. Ann Rest

Former Secretary of State Mark Ritchie

State Rep. Paul Rosenthal

Former Minneapolis Mayor RT Rybak

State Rep. Jennifer Schultz

Tony Sertich, The Northland Foundation 

State Sen. David Tomassoni

DFL State Executive Committee Tim Velde

MN DFL African American Caucus Hollies Winston

State Rep. Cheryl Youakim


*Please note: being a Gun Sense Candidate is not considered a formal endorsement from Everytown for Gun Safety Action Fund

Why do you back Tina?